You are not connected. Please login or register

 » Yu-Gi-Oh Help » Rulings » Spell: Field Cards

Spell: Field Cards

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Spell: Field Cards on Tue May 07, 2013 3:01 am



Field Spells have gone through a long time argument of when or how are they destroyed. This topic will discuss every foggy detail of Field Spells.

Field Spells are spell speed 1, therefore can only activate during the controller's turn. The effect however, if it has a trigger effect that has "when" or "if" can activate at any point of the duel as long as conditions are met.

Effects of a Field Spell

All field spells start a chain. Field Spells must remain on the field to complete their effects. If I activate Fusion Gate's effect and my opponent chooses to use Dust Tornado and destroy my Fusion Gate, I can no longer fuse with any of my monsters. If I use Dragon's Ravine's effect and discard 1 card, and my opponent chooses to use Spell breaking Arrow and destroys my field spell, I can neither add a Dragunity Monster to my hand nor send a dragon from my deck to the graveyard.

Setting a Field Spell Does Not Start a Chain.

Destroying a field spell by setting or activating another field spell does not count as "destroyed by an effect".

Field Over Field

If I play a field spell over a field spell that is active on my side of the field, my original field spell is destroyed, and then I put my new field spell on the zone and wait for a response. If there is none, the new field spell will resolve. If my opponent chain's Mystical Space Typhoon to my new field spell, my old field does not return and the new field spell will resolve in the chain, but will be destroyed.

If I control a field spell, and my opponent chooses to activate a new field spell, my field spell is not destroyed until my opponent's field spell completely resolves on the field. If I chain Mystical Space Typhoon to my opponent's field spell, then that field spell will be destroyed, the field spell in the chain will still resolve, but my field spell will remain on the field.

You can set a field spell over a face-up field spell you control. the old field will be destroyed and the new field spell will be set in the field spell zone with no effect on the field.

You can set or activate a field over another set field you control. The previously set field will be destroyed.

If you set a field spell in your field spell zone and your opponent activates a field spell, your set field spell is not destroyed and vice versa.

Malefics

If I control a malefic monster on the field and I activate a new field spell, my previous field spell will be destroyed and my new field will be on the field waiting for a response. Since the Malefics effect is continuous the moment my field is destroyed, my malefic will be destroyed as well, before my new field resolves.

If I control a malefic monster on the field and my opponent activates a new field spell, my field spell is still active for my malefic to remain on the field, and my opponent's field spell will wait for a response. If there is no response, my field spell will be destroyed, BUT my opponent's field spell completely resolved and it will count as though there has always been a field spell.

If I missed anything or if you have any questions or concerns, please reply to this topic.

View user profile http://herobreakduelacademy.motionforum.net/

View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum