You are not connected. Please login or register

 » Yu-Gi-Oh Help » Rulings » Skill Drain Ruling

Skill Drain Ruling

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Skill Drain Ruling on Tue May 07, 2013 3:04 am


Card Name: Skill Drain

Card Type: Continuous Trap Card (Spell Speed 2)

Condition: None

Cost: 1000 Life Points

Does This Card Target: No

Card Text: Activate by paying 1000 Life Points. The effects of all face-up monsters on the field are negated while those monsters are face-up on the field (but their effects can still be activated).

Rulings:

    *Monsters must be face-up on the field for their effects to be negated.

    *Props to Konami to retype Skill Drain's text; The effects will still activate and resolve in a chain even if it is negated. Only the resolving effect will be negated.

    *If a monster effect activate, if it has a cost, it must pay it.

    *The effect of Skill Drain does not activate.

Jinzo and Wildheart

    *If Skill Drain is activated before Jinzo or Wildheart is on the field, the Jinzo and Wildheart's effects are negated and vice versa.


Tips

Getting around Skill Drain.

    * Keep in mind of what the card must be in order to have it's effect negated; the card must be a monster, face-up, and on the field.
    - A monster card can be treated as another card type if it is in the Spell/Trap Zone(ex. Dragunity Phalanx equipped to a Dragunity, Inzektor Hornet equipped to another Inzektor, Crystal Beasts in the Spell/Trap Zone, etc.)

    *Since effects will still activate regardless if Skill Drain is up, costs for the effect will still need to be paid, so take advantage of card costs like Genex Undine, Card Trooper, and other monsters who's activation cost can benefit you without the effect.

    *While Skill Drain is on the field, you can chain Book of Moon to the monster activating its effect in order for it to be unaffected by skill drain and get it's effect.

ex.
(Supposing Skill Drain is active)
Player 1: Summons Elemental HERO Stratos
Chain Link 1: Elemental HERO Startos's effect activates
Player 1: Responds with Book of Moon and targets Elemental HERO Stratos.
Chain Link 2: Book of Moon
(Chain Links Resolve)
Chain Link 2: Book of Moon sets Elemental HERO Stratos
Chain Link 1: Elemental HERO Stratos resolves its effect, since it is not face-up by the time Stratos uses it's effect, Stratos is unaffected by Skill Drain, and because setting a monster does not negate a Trigger Monster's effect, it will resolve normally.

    *Use monsters who can tribute themselves as costs to get thier effects, since by the time they activate their effect(s), they will be in the grave instead of the field(ex. Lonefire Blossom, Exiled Forces, etc.)

Utilizing Skill Drain to your advantage.

    *Use monsters like Beast King Barbaros to make them lose their debuff effects and if Skill Drain is destroyed later in the turn, the effect is no longer applied.

    *Run this in Normal/ Gemini Decks


If you have any questions or concerns or if i have missed anything is this post, please reply and I will attend to it as soon as I can.

View user profile http://herobreakduelacademy.motionforum.net/

2 Re: Skill Drain Ruling on Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:10 am

Guest


Guest
Hey,

thx for the info on skill drain. You say that for beast-king barbaros, his effect is negated even when skill drain is removed from the field. Does this also apply to any other monsters out on the field before skill drain is removed?

ex. Say i have beast king out and my opponent has 2 high priestess of prophecy out. My opponent use spellbook of wisdom on prophecy to be unaffected by traps. She then uses her eff on skill drain to remove it from the field. Can she now use her second priestess eff?

3 Re: Skill Drain Ruling on Mon Jun 03, 2013 4:29 am

Wut? If you remove Skill Drain its effects are removed from all monsters. Meaning the high priestess that did NOT use its effect can use it. Monsters like Megarock Dragon, Beast King Barbaros, and other monsters that change their ATK/DEF (except Monsters who are always recalculating their ATK/DEF; ex. Lost Guardian ) all have their stats reset during and after Skill Drain. I apologize if that sounds confusing.

View user profile http://herobreakduelacademy.motionforum.net/

4 Re: Skill Drain Ruling on Fri Jun 07, 2013 6:53 pm

Thank You Eatos. I have seen so many people not know Skill Drain rulings. Whenever you use Anti-Meta with Skill Drain and Barb, you always bump into some duelist who doesn't know how they work. Anyways, it's nice that you take your time to write these (certainly better than what Wikia has to offer).

View user profile

5 Re: Skill Drain Ruling on Sat Jun 08, 2013 6:11 am

Anytime bro (:

View user profile http://herobreakduelacademy.motionforum.net/

6 Re: Skill Drain Ruling on Sat Jun 08, 2013 11:18 am

Here's a question which may seem obvious to others but alas I'm a little perplexed. If Skill Drain is on the field and lets say Sacred Phoenix was darkholed.....when they come back does his "Destroy all Spells and Traps" effect activate or is it negated?

View user profile

7 Re: Skill Drain Ruling on Sat Jun 08, 2013 1:06 pm

MegasNexal84 wrote:Here's a question which may seem obvious to others but alas I'm a little perplexed. If Skill Drain is on the field and lets say Sacred Phoenix was darkholed.....when they come back does his "Destroy all Spells and Traps" effect activate or is it negated?

You switched from Plural to Singular ._.

The effect will activate but it is negated. Activation and Resolution are 2 different things.

View user profile http://herobreakduelacademy.motionforum.net/

8 Re: Skill Drain Ruling on Sat Jun 08, 2013 2:22 pm

you forgot that skilldrain has no affect on cards like pollux and castor because they put a summoning condition on the field





Spoiler:

View user profile

9 Re: Skill Drain Ruling on Sat Jun 08, 2013 5:00 pm

Well if Pollux and Caster are summoned when Skill Drain is active, you don't get the additional summon. Which is why I didn't put it up there.

View user profile http://herobreakduelacademy.motionforum.net/

10 Re: Skill Drain Ruling on Sat Jun 08, 2013 7:55 pm

D.D. Eatos wrote:Well if Pollux and Caster are summoned when Skill Drain is active, you don't get the additional summon. Which is why I didn't put it up there.
I thought konami didn't go through with that ruling O_o





Spoiler:

View user profile

11 Re: Skill Drain Ruling on Sat Jun 08, 2013 9:21 pm

I learned it the hard way on Devpro.

View user profile http://herobreakduelacademy.motionforum.net/

12 Re: Skill Drain Ruling on Sat Jun 08, 2013 11:39 pm

D.D. Eatos wrote:I learned it the hard way on Devpro.
lol well the good thing is that veiler and breakthrough skill don't work on them





Spoiler:

View user profile

Sponsored content


View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum